English | Help | Sign in | Give Feedback

How would you rate your experience using this page?

Visit our help center for resources to common issues

Click here to take our survey and give us detailed feedback.

Thank you for your feedback.

Click here to take our survey and give us detailed feedback.

Help Topics

Contact Us

Have feedback? Can't find your answer in our Help pages?

Contact Us

Postpone or cancel a pre-order release

If you need more time to finalize your eBook or want to cancel your pre-order, this page explains your options and what to expect.


Postpone your release date

You can postpone your pre-order release date. The window depends on when your pre-order was created:

  • Pre-order created before September 2, 2026: You can postpone one time, up to 30 days past your current release date.
  • Pre-order created on or after September 2, 2026: You can postpone up to 2 times. Your new release date can't be more than 6 months from your original release date.

If you exceed your available postponements (see above), your pre-order will be auto-canceled. This counts as a cancellation toward your account history.

To postpone your release date:

  1. Go to your Bookshelf.
  2. Select the ellipsis button ("…") next to the title.
  3. Select "Edit eBook Pricing."
  4. Update the release date.
  5. Select "Publish."

Any update to your release date must be made before your submission deadline (72 hours before release). Customers who pre-ordered your eBook will be notified of the new release date.


If you've used your available postponements

If you've already postponed the maximum number of times allowed, you can't postpone again. Your options are:

  • Publish by the current release date.
  • Cancel the pre-order and set up a new one with a different release date.

If you cancel, this counts toward your account-level cancellation history. See "What happens if you cancel" below.


Cancel a pre-order

You can cancel a pre-order that's in 'Pre-order Live' status. To cancel:

  1. Go to your Bookshelf.
  2. Select the ellipsis button ("…") next to the title.
  3. Select "Unpublish."
  4. Confirm when prompted.

After you cancel:

  • Customers who pre-ordered will be notified and their orders will be canceled.
  • You won't be able to use the same ASIN to set up a new pre-order. You'll need to create a new book setup.
  • No further edits can be made to the title.

What happens if you cancel

Canceling a pre-order (or missing your submission deadline, which results in automatic cancellation) counts toward your account-level cancellation history:

  • First cancellation or missed deadline: Your pre-order privileges won't be removed. This is a one-time account-level courtesy.
  • Second cancellation or missed deadline: Your pre-order privileges will be removed for 6 months across your entire catalog. Your privileges will be restored automatically after 6 months.

While your privileges are removed, you won't be able to:

  • Create new pre-orders
  • Postpone existing pre-orders

You can still publish books without pre-order.


If your pre-order privileges are currently removed

If your pre-order privileges are removed and you have an existing pre-order with an upcoming release date:

  • You can't postpone the release date.
  • If your manuscript is ready, submit it before the release date to fulfill the pre-order.
  • You can still move up your release date if your manuscript is submitted.
  • If you can't meet the deadline, the pre-order will be canceled and customers will be notified.

Your privileges will be restored automatically after 6 months.

If your pre-order privileges were removed before September 2, 2026, your original penalty period of one year still applies.


Related articles


Was this article helpful? Yes | No


An unexpected error occurred. Please try again later.
Your session has expired

Please sign in to continue

Sign In
edit